Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
You are only required to notify the police if there is an injury related to the crash, or if public property has been damaged. Crashes that result in property damage only can be handled by the drivers exchanging insurance information. If for any reason you would like an officer to respond to your motor vehicle crash, please call 911 or 651-322-2323 (Dakota Communications Center) and an officer will respond to assist you. If the crash has resulted in an injury or in $1,000 combined damage for all vehicles involved, the drivers involved are required to complete a State of Minnesota Accident Report. This requirement is in place regardless of whether an officer responded to the crash scene or not. You may obtain the form from the Department of Public Safety website.
Show All Answers
The Lakeville Police Department is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for anyone who needs police assistance or would like to make any type of incident report.
You should call 911 anytime you have an emergency situation, like a fire, a serious injury or medical condition, a crime in progress or anytime you need to speak with a police officer. When you call 911 an emergency dispatcher will answer the phone and ask you for details about your situation. Please speak clearly and calmly to the dispatcher. If you dial 911 by accident, please stay on the line and advise the dispatcher that the call to 911 was an accident. If you dial 911 and hang up without speaking to a dispatcher, a police officer will most likely be sent to the location the call was made from.
The Lakeville Police Department partners with the Dakota Communications Center (DCC). The DCC encourages the use of 911 for any situation that requires the response of police, fire or emergency medical personnel. This includes non-emergency situations such as reporting a crime, a traffic situation, or suspicious activity. The dispatcher will ask questions to help assure the proper level of response and that emergencies receive the highest priority. 911 should not be used for information-only purposes. You may also contact the DCC at 952-322-2323.
Submit a Data Request Form (PDF) to the Lakeville Police Department by email, fax or mail. Describe the data you are requesting as specifically as possible, supply pertinent information such as date, time, address, and/or case number. Data requests for information about you a must be submitted with a copy of a valid state ID, driver’s license, military ID or passport.
The Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13) regulates the release of government and law enforcement data. Government data is classified as either Public, Private or confidential. There may be some information in a report that is public and other information that is classified as private or confidential.
Private data can be accessed only by the person who is the subject of the data, you must supply a copy of a valid state ID, such as a driver’s license, military ID, or passport as proof of identity. Traffic accident reports are private and only available to those involved in the accident or who have sustained a loss as a result of the accident. Requests by those representing or insuring individuals involved or who sustained a loss must be in writing, and contain the accident information and name of the person they are representing or insuring.
Confidential data can only be accessed by persons specifically authorized.
There may be charges for copies, materials onto which we copy data, mailing costs, charges for creating summary data, etc. which will be communicated by the Police Department Administrative Services.
Complete the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application/Receipt Permit to Purchase/Transfer form Firearm Application/Receipt Permit (PDF), making sure you sign and date the four (4) SIGNATURE and DATE lines. Email or mail the form WITH a copy of a valid state ID, driver’s license, military ID or passport to the Lakeville Police Department; email: PoliceRecords@lakevillemn.gov, mail: Police Department, 9237 183rd St. W., Lakeville, MN 55044. A background check will be completed and your permit will be mailed to you.
Contact the Sheriff’s Department in the county in which you live.
If you have a concern regarding wildlife in your yard/neighborhood, contact a wildlife expert. The City of Lakeville will only remove some wildlife and in limited situations (sick/injured/deceased).
Coyotes are a part of the community. We have more information on our Coyotes in Lakeville webpage.
When looking for a missing pet:
The Lakeville Police Department does not house any animals or have pets for adoption.
The City of Lakeville does not have a cat ordinance and will not pick up any cats. Instead, you can contact a local shelter.
For other concerns, call Lakeville Police by dialing 911 or 651-322-2323 (Dakota 911), or you may also leave a message for a Community Service Officer at 952-985-2880.
The Lakeville Police Department will respond to vehicle lock-outs in emergency situations (i.e., a child is locked in the vehicle). In non-emergency situations, you should contact a locksmith, tow company or full-service gas station.
Yes. The City of Lakeville follows the Dakota County curfew ordinance:
Submit a Data Request Form (PDF) to the Lakeville Police Department.
Submit (1) the Solicitor Registration Form (PDF) and (2) a copy of your valid driver’s license to PoliceRecords@lakevillemn.gov or by mail to: Lakeville Police Department, 9237 183rd Street West, Lakeville, MN 55044.
The Lakeville Police Department has access to driving records for law enforcement purposes only. Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) does not allow us to provide that data to individuals or businesses. Contact DVS directly via their website or by phone at 651-296-6911.
Fingerprint services are available by appointment only. Payment by cash or check is accepted. Contact our administrative offices at 952-985-2800 to schedule an appointment.
Orders for protection and harassment/restraining orders are issued by district courts. Visit any of the Dakota County service center locations to complete an application for any of these orders. More information is available at the Minnesota Judicial Branch website.
Some information on Level III predatory offenders is available online from the Minnesota Department of Corrections.
You can submit your comments online on our website. You may also send an email, letter or a card to the Police Department. Please include a brief description of how the officer/employee was helpful to you. You may also call us at 952-985-2800 to pass along this information.
If you have a complaint regarding the conduct of an officer or employee of the Police Department, call 952-985-2800 and ask to speak with the Watch Commander or on-duty supervisor. This person will be able to explain the complaint process to you. You may also send us information online via our website.
Minnesota's child passenger safety law went into effect July 1, 2009. The law requires a child who is both under age 8 and shorter than 4'9" to be fastened in a child safety seat or booster. Under this law, a child cannot use a seat belt alone until he/she is age 8 or 4'9" tall, whichever comes first. It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on height, rather than age. Infants under 20 pounds and age 1 must be in a rear-facing safety seat. Booster seats and other child restraint/safety seats must be installed according to manufacturer's instructions. Car seat checks are available at multiple locations. Visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website for a list of locations.
Contact the Lakeville Police Department to report any identity theft. An officer will provide you with information on the steps you should take to clear your identity and protect yourself in the future. He/she will review this identity theft information with you and help you submit the related forms. Online resources include the Federal Trade Commission, U.S. Department of Justice, Social Security Administration, Equifax, TransUnion or Experian. We also list some identity theft resources on our website.
If the vehicle is not being held for investigative purposes, the vehicle will be located at Marek’s Towing in Lakeville. You will need a copy of the impoundment form, which may have been given to you on the scene. Otherwise you may pick it up at the Police Department. This form has the address and phone number of the tow company.